Casa Maurice Testimonials

"Large, well-equipped villa in superb location"
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in September 2017
For a large family group this villa really does tick all the boxes. A beautiful pool and chairs to relax in, a well - appointed kitchen for cooking and a games room which included table football, a pool table, table tennis and a darts board.
Chris, the friendly owner, arranges punctual transfers to and from Faro airport in air conditioned cars and offers lots of advice on what to do locally, even taking three of our group for a navigational drive around town to point out things !
But perhaps the best feature of this villa is the location. Normally such lovely rentals are at least 2 - 3 miles outside a resort making car hire a necessity. Not Casa Maurice - a local shop (open 8:30 am - 7 pm) is 5 minutes walk, the large beach at Meia Praia has a short-cut to it and so can be reached in 10- 15 minutes, the marina at Lagos is a 15 minute walk (downhill !) and then it's another 5 minutes over the bridge from the marina into the fairly lively (but not rowdy) old town. There are numerous attractions which are very close. Examples : the high tree ropes venue (Parque Aventura) which is in the woods on the way over to the beach, they also offer paintball here. There is a water ski / wake park (Wake Salinas) which is on the main Faro road about 1.5 km from town, however there is a short cut by consulting a map. The marina contains several companies who offer boat trips. We enjoyed two which were both excellent. 'Days of Adventure' took us on kayaks through a series of caves to the West of Lagos and 'Happy Time' took us East on a rib / speedboat to some magnificent caves at Benagil, both highly recommended. The day before we departed a local family opened a tapas bar (Ztona) literally 150 yards from the villa with incredibly competitive drinks prices !
Use the local taxi company (00351282460610) and your options become wider. The drivers speak good English and are generally very friendly. The town can be reached for 5 euro's but between 6 pm - 8 pm they can be very busy so you might need to consider the downhill walk into town for an evening meal ? Other times are fine though. There is a train station next to the marina and a bus station on the other side of the marina. We took snapshots on our phones of their timetables and used them a couple of times but the regularity of public transport is a little sporadic ! Our favourite trip was to Carvoneiro. (train to Lagoa then taxi) A wonderful small town with cute architecture, plenty of bars / restaurants, a boardwalk above the town where you could walk Eastwards and take in the environment. (including even more caves !)
I cannot think of any negatives to warn you about - there literally aren't any !
My age: 50-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

Wonderful stay in every way !"
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2017
Our group of 9 (aged 20's to 60's) really enjoyed our stay here. 15 minute walk to Meia Praia beach, 20 minute walk to marina then over the bridge to the hustle of Lagos town which is a joy. There is a games room in the basement, table tennis, pool and table football, nice swimming pool and fully equipped kitchen. The owner Chris meets you shortly after arrival and talks you through everything. Small shop (really useful) about 10 minute walk.

A great holiday"
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1

person found this review helpful
Villa is near to beach, Marina and town of Lagos. There is a huge well stocked supermarket within walking distance. Villa was well equipped with everything that you needed while on holiday. Chris is such a nice chap and you would go a long way to find accommodation up to his standard. He even arranged for transport to and from Faro airport. Pool was well maintained and a man comes in mid week to clean it.
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

"Wonderful family holiday villa"
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
The location of this villa was about 15 /20mins walk to marina and a further 5 mins walk to the old town we tended to walk there and get a taxi to return. As stated previously it is about 10 minutes to the beach.A party of 9 of us ageing from 15 to 70 years old had a really fabulous holiday in this wonderful large villa.The pool was big and we had a few great BBQ 's on the outside terrace in the evenings.Chris was so helpful and could not do enough to ensure that we had a really good time we used his recommended transfer which went very smoothly.
A really lovely villa we are hopeing to return soon . Thank You Chris
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

"Fantastic from start to finish."
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1

person found this review helpful
From the moment we first got in contact with Chris, he couldn't have been more helpful. Every question we had he would answer. I went with my extended family which included 9 adults and 7 children and there was more than enough room for us all. Chris very kindly offered another camp bed when he thought that we might have been a bit tight. When we arrived there was a slight problem with the air conditioning. Chris got it sorted straight away and was very helpful.

The villa itself is absolutely stunning. Every room was lovely and the games room is very big. The pool was a very good size too. It is about a 25 minute walk into the town which was never really a problem, There is a nice bar around the corner. They were always very helpful in ordering us a taxi while we enjoyed a drink. I could not recommend this villa more. Would love to go back.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

"SUPER VILLA, FANTASTIC HOLIDAY"
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Our family (10 of us ) stayed at Casa Maurice in September 2016 , we were celebrating my parents Golden Wedding .
What a wonderful holiday we had !!!
Excellent correspondence from the owner Chris , from the airport transfers to the hiring of two mobility scooters and even helped myself plan a surprise for my parents on arrival to the villa ,all this professionalism made our holiday set off on a very high note ,.
The villa was very clean comfy and spacious and very well equipped with two large fridge / freezers in the kitchen plenty space for food and drinks . The outdoor area was perfect , breakfast outside every morning peaceful and just tranquil, Stunning well kept gardens aswell .Pool cleaned while we were there too. We made us of the BBQ area one night where my brother cooked very tasty king prawns plus lots of other foods.
One morning we had no hot water , we rang the manager who came out promptly and sorted out the problem .
The location was in quite a new complex however we felt it was longer than 10 minutes to the beach and marina especially in the heat , but this didn't bother us as we usually walked down to the marina and got a taxi or tuk tuk back to the villa . Both were an experience which just added to memories made on our holiday .
Lagos was just stunning , very picturesque town beautiful restaurants and bars and stunning beaches and scenery .
We would definitely return to Casa Maurice and can't thank Chris enough for all that he did for us , with his excellent response times to emails we were all very impressed.
THANK YOU
Tracey
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

Casa Maurice, a treat in the Algarve!"
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2

people found this review helpful
We stayed at the lovely Casa Maurice in June 2015 and in our party there were 5 adults (ranging from 37 - 89) and two children (3 and 5). Casa Maurice was perfect and spacious and had everything we needed, including a lovely swimming pool which we enjoyed as well. There was also a games room downstairs but the weather was so glorious during our stay we didn't use it at all, as we were out in the sun swimming or visiting the many attractions around the area.

There are many nice supermarkets and restaurants around, too. We took a short car ride to the beach, but one could also walk, if they wanted, as it's not that far and the beaches are BEAUTIFUL nearby with caves and a fantastic coastline, too. Well worth seeing!

I would recommend Casa Maurice to any families travelling to the Algarve.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.

"Fab villa!"
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1

person found this review helpful
Traveled to the villa in July with my partner, stepson, son and daughter plus their partners and 4 grandchildren (8 adult 4 grandkids)
The service starts the minute that you book! You get first class communications throughout and a very comprehensive villa guide, which includes directions for driving from the airport in picture form.
Chris the villa owner organised the transfers for us all, in good quality minibus's.
The villa is set in a very nice area and, on arrival at the villa you are met by Dinis who is your resort contact for anything to do with the villa during your stay, he explains all about the villa, alarms etc, very helpful.
The villa comprises good accommodation, large bedrooms and the kitchen/ lounge is huge.
The Games room is well kitted out with darts, table tennis, football table and a good sized snooker/pool table.
The grounds of the villa are well manicured and gated, which means the children are contained without having to worry. And the pool is an excellent size and well maintained.
It is advisable to have a car for your stay just for shopping alone, there is a little supermarket a short walk away, but if you have a car you can use the big supermarkets on the way into town, in order to make good use ad the 2 barbecue's. The kitchen has 2 large fridge freezers and has every conceivable gadget you would ever need.
If you decide to walk to the beach it takes about 10-15 mins along the path that you can see from the villa balcony, the marina takes about 20 mins.
There is a little bar just at the entrance to the villa, where they will ring a taxi for you and you can have a beer while you wait.
Even though there were 12 of us, you are not living on top of each other due to the layout and size of the villa.
We had a fantastic stay and would recommend this villa to everyone,
Chris is extremely helpful and responds quickly to any questions or needs that you might have.